United States*

USA FlagThe United States of America is a federal constitutional republic comprising fifty states and a federal district. The country is situated almost entirely in the western hemisphere: its forty-eight contiguous states and Washington, D.C., the capital district, lie in central North America between the Pacific and Atlantic Oceans, bordered by Canada to the north and Mexico to the south; the state of Alaska is in the northwest of the continent with Canada to its east, and the state of Hawaii is in the mid-Pacific. The United States also possesses fourteen territories, or insular areas, that are scattered around the Caribbean and Pacific.

Population: 302,667,000 (3rd)
Area: 9,826,630 km˛ (3rd) / 3,793,079 sq mi

Additional Information

* Intro text, area and population information from

What's New | About IEA-SHC | Solar Heating & Cooling | Country Information | Tasks & Working Groups | Publications
Newsletter | Calendar of Events | Other Related Sites | ExCo Corner | Search | Home