Austria (German: Österreich, see also other languages), officially the Republic of Austria (German: Republik Österreich), is a landlocked country in Central Europe. It borders Germany and the Czech Republic to the north, Slovakia and Hungary to the east, Slovenia and Italy to the south, and Switzerland and Liechtenstein to the west. Its capital city is Vienna.

Population: 8,292,322 (92nd)
Area: 83,871 km² (115th) 32,378 sq mi

* Intro text, area and population information from

Country Sites

Additional Information